Athlete Spotlight December 2016 – Monzerrat Calderon

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I have been CrossFitting for almost 7 months.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I was born in Houston Texas, but raised in South Texas in Laredo. I am a Texas A&M Graduate (WHOOP!!) and I love to cook.

What’s your occupation?

I am Compensation Analyst and Project Manager (or as my brother likes to call me the Great Depression and Destroyer of Dreams).

 How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

My brother and sister in law who have been doing CrossFit for a few years helped me in picking a box to join. They looked up different CrossFit boxes near me and liked what they saw online. I came and checked it out and really liked it. The first day I came for my elements class I saw how the members all were talking to each other and laughing. They were enjoying each other’s company and I liked that. I liked how attentive the coaches seemed. They made me feel welcomed.

 What progress have you made since joining CrossFit Luna?

I made progress in everything haha I have never done any kind of weights before I joined CrossFit Luna. The coaches and members have pushed me hard and I have now found out that I am a lot stronger than I ever could have fathom.

 What is your favorite exercise?

I love anything with squats, I love wall balls, air squats, front squats, and back squats.

 What is your least favorite exercise?

I do not like Snatches and Burpees. I am not comfortable yet with having weight over my head but I am hoping that by next year I will not feel this way towards snatches. However my dislike for burpees will mostly like remain.

Snatch or Clean & Jerk?

Well base of my previous response it’s easy to deduce I would rather do Clean & Jerk.

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

My favorite WODs were when we did a WOD named after each of the Dallas Police officers who lost their lives in the line of duty.

What has been your least favorite WOD? 

I do not have a least favorite WOD. So far I have liked them all because they push me to becoming the best version of myself possible.

If you had to program a WOD for the class to do, what would it include? What would you name it?

I would have a WOD with nothing but squats, Wall balls, air squats, back squats, and front squats. And I would call it Death by Squats.

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

I want to be comfortable doing a Snatch, be able to do a bar muscle up and finally be able to do double unders.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

I actually look forward to coming to CrossFit Luna. I enjoy how I feel after the workouts and I like not having to worry about what I am going to do because the workouts are already programmed. I like having someone help me out and guide me.

What would you tell people who are wanting to start or just started CrossFit?

I would tell them to just try it. But to first look and find out about the box they are thinking about joining so they can go to a good place. Because unfortunately there is a reason there are horror stories about CrossFit. I was one of those people who didn’t want to do CrossFit. I kept thinking there is no way I will ever be able to do any of those workouts. But I have realized that everything can be scaled. And you can work your way up. There are still so many things I need to get better at. But I have seen so many improvements in the short period that I have been doing CrossFit.

How can other people relate to your story? 

I could barely do the barbell alone for back squats and front squats when I first started and now I am over 200lbs. I didn’t do any weights before I joined and I have a bad back that I had to have spinal surgery when I was 21 years old. But I have gotten stronger since I started and I am able to do so much more than I could have ever imagined.

 Favorite Cheat Meal?

This is difficult because I love food! I tell people that food is my true love hahaha. But if I had to pick it would have to be pasta.

 Prince or MJ?

Do I have to pick one? This isn’t fair. I am going to go ahead and say both!

 What is something that others may not know about you? 

Well if you know me you know I am extremely extroverted and very loud (sorry about that). But I am not comfortable when being recorded. So please forgive my awkwardness in the video.

 

Post Results Below:

