Athlete Spotlight November 2016 – Parker Reguero

parker-recovery

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I have been CrossFitting for just a little less than 2 years. I did CrossFit for 4 months in college at Koda CrossFit in Norman and then took a couple months off when I transitioned down to Dallas. I’ve been at CrossFit Luna for 21 months.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from? 

I’m from Southern California, born and raised in the Irvine/Newport Beach area. I’m the oldest of 5 and love all my brothers and sisters. I grew up playing baseball and basketball and got into football in high school but I pretty much love every sport imaginable. Although I love the beach and amazing weather, I spent my whole life in Southern California so for college I wanted a new experience. I visited schools all across the country and the moment I stepped on the University of Oklahoma campus, I knew I wanted to be a Sooner. After 4.5 years of amazing experiences, I moved down to Dallas to start my career.

What’s your occupation?

All my life I have loved to sell. As a kid it was things like candy bars and packs of gum out of my locker at school, as a college student I participated in starting a company and was the #1 salesman selling Crimson Coolers, and since graduation I sold large enterprise software and am currently selling digital marketing and advertising.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

When I decided that I was moving to Dallas, I Googled CrossFit gyms in the Irving area and checked out 3-4 gyms. I spent some time on their websites checking out their wods because to me the most important thing when choosing my gym was knowing that the workouts and programming would be good. After visiting a few of the ones with quality programming I chose Luna because of the amazing facility and how awesome of a coach Dhenmark is. I couldn’t be happier with my choice, the community here is amazing!

What progress have you made since joining CrossFit Luna?

I’ve made progress in so many areas of my life since joining Luna. Not only am I in the best all around shape of my life, but I have become more mentally tough, more disciplined, harder working, and an overall happy person since joining Luna. I actually look forward to going to the gym every day and on days that I don’t go, I feel like my day is incomplete. CrossFit makes exercising fun and when you start seeing improvements in fitness, skills, and physique, it makes you want to come back that much more.

What is your favorite exercise?

Wall balls – I love exercises where you can get in a grind for a while.

What is your least favorite exercise?

Pull ups – I hate exercises where I’m standing and looking at a piece of equipment in the middle of a wod because I can’t do another rep….

Snatch or Clean & Jerk?

C & J

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

10 minute EMOM

Odd – Row 10 cals

Even – 2 Man makers

Rest 1 minute

150 wall balls with 5 burpees EMOM

That wod was all about mental toughness. Those kinds of workouts teach us mental toughness and perseverance and I love it.

What has been your least favorite WOD?  

Fran! I always feel like I’m going to die afterward and my time isn’t even fast.

If you had to program a WOD for the class to do, what would it include? What would you name it?

Smash Balls, Wall Balls, Overhead Squats, Push Ups, GHDs, Burpies, and a small number of Pull Ups (we have to get better at the things we don’t like. It would be a 20 minute AMRAP with a nice variety of movements. I would call it the Reguero’s Rampage.

What are some of your goals for the coming year? 

My goals for fitness include things like a 400 lb back squat and a 275 clean and jerk. I also want to be able to string together 10+ butterfly pull ups and 3+ bar and ring muscle ups. I have lost about 15 lbs since joining Luna and would like to lose 10-15 more and maintain a body weight of 180-185 pounds. I have always been a goal setter so I set financial goals, spiritual goals, and intellectual goals each year in addition to the physical goals.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

CrossFit isn’t like going to a regular gym. I used to dread going to the gym because I would put head phones in and do the same old boring workout time after time by myself. CrossFit is basically the opposite of that. I’m excited to go to the gym every day because I get to workout with a group of uplifting and energetic people who are all there to have fun and better themselves through fitness. The workouts are always changing presenting new and exciting challenges. We have awesome coaches to encourage us and teach us how to improve our technique and fitness day in and day out. CrossFit has given me a fitness that allows me to do whatever I want in my daily life. For example, last September I did a 22 mile round trip hike up to Half Dome in Yosemite without having to do anything outside my normal weekly CrossFit to prepare.

What would you tell people who are wanting to start or just started CrossFit?

Just have fun and focus on moving properly. This will be the most fun you will ever have getting fit and it will prepare you for whatever physical activities you want to do.

How can other people relate to your story? 

Every starts somewhere. No matter where you are at, start putting in work and you can get wherever it is you want to go and achieve whatever you set your mind to.

Favorite Cheat Meal?

Pazookies!

Favorite 80’s movie?

Top Gun

What is something that others may not know about you? 

I love to read. Books about business, philosophy, biographies, the Bible, and thriller/fiction. I love action and mystery so my favorite author is Brad Thor.

Post Results Below:

