Athlete Spotlight – October 2016 Sarah Sabotka

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I come from the powerlifting world so CrossFit Luna was the first crossfit box I have ever been in. With that being said, I have been a member for 13 months, but crossfitting regularly for about 8 months.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I was raised in a little one light town famous for being the Home of Baseball – Cooperstown, NY. Way upstate. I am the oldest of three girls, my family is spread out between Vermont and NY – I am the only “southerner” – I like it that way!  I have three rescued dogs (huge advocate for adopt/rescue and spay/neuter), they are all Jack Russell Terriers between 8 – 10 years old. Their names are Indiana Bones, Grace Kelly, and Travis Barker. Indiana Bones is my blind pup, but you would never know – he gets around quite well. Two of my most favorite things in life are animals and food – however, I don’t mix the two. I was vegan for 9 years, fell off the wagon for a bit, but I’m happy to stay that I have jumped back on. I feel lighter, healthier, stronger. And yes, I get plenty of protein!

What’s your occupation?

I am a Cyber Threat Analyst – I track hackers and cyber criminals all day. The internet is a scary place!

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

This is probably totally lame, but when I first moved to Dallas I did a lot of ‘Yelp-ing’ because I had absolutely no familiarity with my surroundings, so I went by people’s ratings and comments on Yelp (I still do it too, sorta hate to admit that). Anyway, Luna had AWESOME reviews on Yelp, and still does. It is also close to where I live and work.  Additionally, my former PT who became one of my best friends back in NY, was CrossFit-obsessed. Her enthusiasm about the sport encouraged me – so you could say my decision to do crossfit was because of her, and I joined Luna, specifically, because of the raving reviews it had – OH! Also my first Elements class was awesome, Coach Matt (T) and member Gena were super nice and welcoming, made me feel a lot less awkward than I normally do in life – so that was extremely helpful.

What progress have you made since joining CrossFit Luna?

I’ve made a lot of unexpected progress, that’s for sure. In addition to achieving new weight PRs, I am able to do things like a handstand push -up, kipping pull ups, dubz – all things that I never could’ve possibly imagined being able to do. Honestly, if I am capable of executing something, which requires coordination, successfully –  THAT is progress.

What is your favorite exercise?

Anything with a barbell, seriously. I like anything that involves picking up weight. Specifically, I love cleans, it’s my favorite movement. I am also a big fan of box jumps, wall balls, push-ups, thrusters, renegade rows, and rowing in general.

What is your least favorite exercise?

Burpees and running. Although, I made a commitment to myself about a month ago that I needed to practice my running so that it wasn’t so painful and miserable for me…by doing so, I have grown to appreciate it a bit more, doesn’t mean I really like it, but I hate it less than I do burpees. Dubz used to be on this list, I used to get (what I like to call) the “dub rage” and end up throwing my rope in anger. Something that has helped me overcome my dub-rage has been chanting “at least it’s not burpees” in my head, as I’m jumping and whipping myself with my rope.

Snatch or Clean & Jerk?

Clean & Jerk, for sure.

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

I love chippers. I really liked the Xmas WOD last year. I also really liked the Hero WOD we did in honor of those affected by events related to the Dallas shooting this past summer. Truly anything that combines more than three movements and is a chipper, but that also does not include running or burpees.

What has been your least favorite WOD? 

All of the WODs that have running AND burpees in them – but honestly, I don’t really have a “least favorite”. I don’t even hate Fran all that much. I just see the “bad” ones as being good for practice. They are a necessary evil, I suppose.

If you had to program a WOD for the class to do, what would it include? What would you name it?

It would be a chipper of deadlifts, push press, box jumps, HSPU, and Dubz for good measure and practice! OH, and rope climbs!! I would name this WOD ‘Sarah’ – obviously!

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

I want a 300# squat, so bad. I’d also really like to get a muscle-up, that’d be pretty dang cool.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

Oh man this is a good question, which I could spend hours answering because CrossFit is SO unique from any other fitness program (and I’ve had a lot of coffee today). What makes CrossFit especially unique is that it combines sooooo many different types of exercise in a cohesive way. No type of movement is left out – it’s not like Zumba or spinning or yoga where it’s kind like the same type of thing all the time…CrossFit WODs are always different but there’s always going to be some part of it that you will like – also the fact that it’s scalable for any athletic level is awesome. Lastly, I’d consider it more of a lifestyle than a fitness program -there’s definitely a culture to it, one of community, pride, encouragement, and camaraderie.

What would you tell people who are wanting to start or just started CrossFit?

Stick with it. It’s going to be weird and perhaps a tad frustrating at first, no matter what level athlete you are, but once you find your groove it will feel more like fun than it does a workout.

How can other people relate to your story?

This is a hard question. Being so far from home and family, I was quite a bit homesick living in Texas totally alone at first – I knew that eventually I would have to start making friends and going out more – I couldn’t just work all the time and hang out with my dogs in my apartment, they’d get sick of me. Unexpectedly, I found that family and friendship that I knew I needed and wanted, from CrossFit and especially at Luna. It feels weird to go an entire day without talking to or seeing someone from the Luna family (aside from Colby) whether it’s through text, Facebook, or at the box. There are so many different people who are part of the Wolf Pack, it would be hard to be a loner even if you tried. And if you feel like you are a loner or if you’re new and maybe a bit shy (like I was at first) you can come sit at my table, there’s always room 🙂

Favorite Cheat Meal?

Breakfast, lunch, and dinner – haha, just kidding! Currently my favorite cheat meal involves lots and lots and lots of onion rings and donuts – I could literally eat donuts all day long one right after the other. Preferably glazed and chocolate frosted. Also, there’s this new kind of artisanal cashew cheese by Treeline, it’s amazing  – that with chickpea crackers and a nice glass of Cabernet Sauvignon – yes please!!

Which would you hug first? Colby holding a micro pig or Colby holding tacos?

Ideally I would be hugging Colby and the micro pig while we all eat tacos together!

What is something that others may not know about you?

Prior to moving to Texas I spent several years as an Animal Cruelty Investigator, then went to beauty school (I hold a NYS Cosmetology license) and did freelance hair and makeup for quite awhile before I decided to go back to school to pursue an MS in Cybersecurity. My career has been all over the place! I also really love to cook and listen to country music.

Post Results Below:

