Athlete Spotlight – September 2016 Jamaal Campbell

How long have you been CrossFitting?

 4 months.

 Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I grew up in Pine Bluff, AR.

What’s your occupation? 

I am a management consultant. My firm’s focus is healthcare and specifically, the provider setting (i.e., health systems, hospitals, medical groups).

 How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I heard about CrossFit Luna through a friend, William Cody, who is also a member of the box.  I joined because after my first Elements’ class I truly believed this community would support me in achieving my fitness goals.

 What progress have you made since joining CrossFit Luna? 

I’m definitely a lot stronger and my stamina has improved significantly.  I am able to keep up with my 2-year old which I deem success all by itself!

What is your favorite exercise? 

Squats and rowing.

 What is your least favorite exercise? 

I dislike burpees with a passion.

 Snatch or Clean & Jerk? 

Snatch…although I still have a long way to go with improving the technique.

 What has been your favorite WOD so far? 

I don’t remember all the names yet.  However, once it was over, I had an appreciation for Nasty Girls.

What has been your least favorite WOD?

Any WOD with burpees.

 If you had to program a WOD for the class to do, what would it include? What would you name it?

It would include HBBS, rowing, and snatches/cleans. Would call it Goodfellas.

What are some of your goals for the coming year? 

Strict pull-up.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs? 

The biggest difference to me is that it is truly a community. You get a genuine feeling that we’re all on this self improvement journey together.

What would you tell people who are wanting to start or just started CrossFit? For someone wanting to start, I would say to please ignore the youtube videos and take the time to visit a box. They’re not all created equal but it’s important to eliminate the intimidation factor. For someone just starting, stick with it and just enjoy the ride. Seeing continuous progress is a great feeling!

How can other people relate to your story? 

I had my first kid and wanted to have the energy to keep up with the guy. Long hours at work or traveling for work could no longer be an excuse for my inability to run around with him as much as he wanted. He made me realize that my health was even more important because someone was depending on me and I needed to be there for the long haul.

Favorite cheat meal? 

 Pappadeaux’s!

What is something that others may not know about you?

 I like to snorkel.

 

Categories: WOD

Post Results Below:

