Athlete Spotlight July 2016 – Michael Redd

How long have you been CrossFitting?  

Since February 2014

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from? 

I’m from a small town in north Texas called Sherman. I’m an Eagle Scout. Complete and utter geek/nerd; I love board games, D&D, sudoku, and baking. I thoroughly enjoy working with hand tools and hanging out with my dad.

What’s your occupation?

Aircraft Dispatcher for Envoy Airlines. Basically I plan flights, check weather, and make sure everything is safe.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I heard about CF Luna via word of mouth and I am glad I walked in the door back in April 2015. The coaches are amazing and helpful. The community that the other athletes created made me feel like I was welcome. CF Luna is my fitness home.

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

I am less stressed about stuff now; I feel much stronger. And I feel like I’m at home at CF Luna.

What is your favorite exercise?

Clean and Jerk

What is your least favorite exercise?

Toes to Bar

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

Murph

What has been your least favorite WOD?  

Bear Complex

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

Tobias – I lost my best friend while I was away on deployment in Afghanistan. We were the quintessential odd couple. He was a great man.

What are some of your goals for the coming year? 

A strict 20m handstand walk and muscle ups.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

Zero monotony, few plateaus, always interesting and  sometimes it doesn’t feel like your working out.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Not at all

How can other people relate to your story? 

I do crossfit because I like cake. I’m not here to become an elite athlete; I just want to be a better me.

What is something that others may not know about you? 

I can fly single engine planes, I’ve got a private pilot license.

Post Results Below:

