Athlete Spotlight May 2016 – Carlos Castro

How long have you been CrossFitting?

-Around one year.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

-Born in the West Coast of Mexico, studied College in the north (Chihuahua to be exact), married a northern babe, had one girl, moved to the south of the USA and then had another baby girl. I currently live in north Carrollton; I have an amazing family, a creative mind and a sexy accent.

What’s your occupation?

-Husband, dad, latin dance teacher (ok, no) and graphic design.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

-I went to the CrossFit games while recovering from an injury, there I bumped into Karla, Jeff and Mac, friends from the gym I used to go to, they encouraged me to try their current CrossFit, which I did.

The first day Mac was there greeting me with a big smile, then Colby welcomed me as well, so long story short, I tried it and I found a place with a cool, welcoming vibe, in which I’ve stayed for quite a while now and I plan staying a lot longer.

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

-This place is full of camaraderie and positive competitive environment, so working out here pushes me to be stronger than what I thought possible. I found myself getting lost in time enjoying the WOD’s, instead of constantly checking the clock or staring at the people going faster than me. The coaches have been encouraging and motivating me throughout my whole journey, still they showed me how to scale the workouts to my extents, but still challenge myself.

The mental challenges of CrossFit can far exceed the physical ones, so I might add that I’m not only training my body, but my brain as well. But as Bill Russell said: “Concentration and mental toughness are the margins of victory”.

What is your favorite exercise?

-Bear complex and rowing.

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

-The ones we do in teams, competition drives you to be the best that you can be, to beat the others and break personal records, and of course the show off factor is always there.

What has been your least favorite WOD?

Running: 4RT 400m running, 200m Jogging, 300m running (again), 100m sprint.

What is your least favorite exercise?

Probably Snatches, scary movement for me to do.

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

“CELTIC BILL” in honor of William Felton “Bill” Russell

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

Make things harder, longer, faster, and simply better, become a CrossFit machine in general… If I’m putting myself through hell at least I want my peers to tremble in fear when they see me coming, ok no, but I do want to get the best out of my performance. I also need to improve and coordinate my training with a better sleep and nutrition.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

Every day is different, it complements other sports and most important you get to be part of a really great community.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Not for a second. I’ve done cycling for the past 8 years, I though nothing would help me to get better at it, but guess what… CrossFit did it, at first I couldn’t believe it but I improved my average speed by 3.5 min/hr.

How can other people relate to your story?

I’m the guy who would roll his eyes when scrolling down Instagram and seeing pictures of friends full of #crossfit, #pr, #wod, #paleo, etc. I couldn’t understand the hype about it, but I end it up getting caught and I’ll have to admit I don’t regret a thing about it, so next time you make fun of a hashtag think twice about it…

What is something that others may not know about you?

  • I can speak Spanish, and I’m teaching myself Italian.
  • I’m a graffiti artist, not really, but I’m good at painting.
  • I’m a great cook, and not just mexican food!
  • I have 9.7 fingers on my hands (ouch).
Post Results Below:

