Athlete Spotlight January 2016 – Vinay Kumar

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I started crossfitting  June 2015.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I grew up in a small village in Andhra Pradesh state in India. I moved to United States in August 2012 to pursue my masters at State University of New York at Buffalo. I survived two horrible winters in Buffalo and couldn’t take snow any more. I visited Dallas in Summer 2014 and I liked this place. I moved to Dallas in January 2015.

What’s your occupation?

I work as a Senior Software Developer(SAP) for Superior Group.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I had an LA Fitness membership when I lived in Buffalo. I never used it. I went to LA Fitness in Irving couple of times and I didn’t like it either. One of my friend suggested to join boot camp classes. I came across CrossFit Luna while I was searching for boot camp classes in Irving . It had very good reviews and was very near to where I live.I stopped by for elements class and everybody was so welcoming. I wanted to try something new, get out of my comfort zone. So I decided to join. It has been worth it!

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

There has been a dramatic change in me both mentally and physically since Crossfitting. Physically I have never been this active before. I am getting stronger and stronger. I am seeing my gainz..I am trying things which I never thought I would do (I am happy about it). I have learned to push beyond my ability, to not quit, to try something new and to get out of my comfort zone which is helping me in my professional/personal life too. I have personally experienced how to stay determined and complete the task no matter what it takes from watching our intra box competition. It helped me to meet people from diverse backgrounds and learn from their experiences . When I moved to Dallas I didn’t have any friends here but now I am part of pretty cool gang! They make me feel at home. However my day is, it feels great to come to CFL and see my friends and workout with them.

What is your favorite exercise?

Running and Burpees.

What is your least favorite exercise?

Pull Ups and Thrusters

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

Thursday’s stamina & endurance WODs are my favorite. I think Thursday is the only day I can attempt RX.

What has been your least favorite WOD?

Combination WOD of Cindy & Mary.

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

“Watch me VI – NAY – NAY.” Should have lots of cardio- running, rowing, box jumps, burpees and some cool dance moves in between movements and reps. I like seeing people dancing.

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

I have a list of goals to achieve. Dubz, Handstand and HSPU. I also want to perfect all the different lifting movements. I want to run a marathon and complete Spartan Trifecta in 2016. I know this is too much but someday in the future I want to participate in any of the local crossfit competitions.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

I hate working out alone and never had motivation to go workout. It was very difficult for me to work out at regular gym. I used to just run because I didn’t know how or what to work on. I like crossfit programming how everyone with varied fitness levels can work right next to each other. Coaches will program for you and guide/help you all time to achieve your goals. I feel crossfit helps build genuine relationships and there is sense of community/family. At least it helped me in making good friends. Everyone in the box helps you, encourages/motivates you to complete the WOD, and celebrates together. I am very happy with crossfit.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Never. I used to be the fat little kid in the school doing nothing.. I never thought I would be lifting, running, talking about fitness, trying different kinds of activities. It took almost 27 years to figure it out.

How can other people relate to your story?

I have never tried anything to keep myself fit. I always thought I cannot do anything. What I have learned during my journey with CrossFit Luna is if you are open to try and push yourself out of your comfort zone little by little everyone will be able achieve the level of fitness they desire. If I can do it anybody can do it. I want to quote coach Dhenmark’s statement in this context “You don’t have to be fit to start, you just gotta start” which I keep telling to my friends. All it takes is one step forward and the rest follows.

What is something that others may not know about you?

I am scared of dogs. I don’t know how to swim. I participated in Dallas Spartan Beast 2015 with my friends at CFL and this was my first race ever. I also ran my first 10k this year. I don’t like being the center of attention. It makes me anxious!

I am very happy to be part of CrossFit Luna and thank you everyone for helping me out and pushing me everyday to be better and better physically and mentally. Thanks for making me feel at home.

One thought on “Athlete Spotlight January 2016 – Vinay Kumar

Post Results Below:

