Athlete Spotlight December 2015 – Chris Broadstone

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I started CrossFitting in May 2015

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I am very easy going!!!  If I see you before the workout in the morning, I will probably say “good morning” or “hi” to you – I cannot guarantee this after the workout ;).  I am also a finance geek with a passion for money – haha!!  I have a massive weakness for pizza, beer and In and Out – you will never hear me turn down any 3 of these things.

I am not really from anywhere but rather everywhere – Born in St. Louis, raised out west as a kid mostly in Phoenix, Seattle and Denver, finished high school back in St. Louis, went to college at Mizzou, moved to Myrtle Beach, SC for a couple years before moving back to Phoenix again, then Houston, and now Dallas.  All of my family lives in California and Arizona and I claim Phoenix as my home town as it’s where I have lived the longest.

What’s your occupation?

I co-manage an institutional investment portfolio for a hospital network and my wife and I have opened up a boutique investment firm for retail investors and private wealth management.  In other words – I deal with Wall Street type people all day.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

In October of 2014 I was diagnosed with extreme mild emphysema/COPD.  It scared the shit out of me and I immediately looked for anything to halt or slow the progression of this disease.  I started getting my diet together, slowly worked into some exercises I knew from high school when I actually lifted weights, worked my way back into p90x and then finally after speaking with my doctor in April she suggested (prescribed) CrossFit as a way to strengthen my lungs and increase overall muscle to help my body use oxygen more efficiently. I looked up CrossFit boxes here in the Las Colinas area, researched Luna, found out that Ben has been in this game since 2002 (and he’s lived in Phoenix and Seattle like me!) which, to me, translated into “I know these guys know what they are doing!”  I Met Dhenmark and Dan on my first day of elements and loved both of them and the workout, and since my doctor didn’t give me a choice, I joined immediately.

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

Physically – I haven’t seen much (I feel my legs are getting a little bigger) but other people have – they’ll say “you’re losing weight” or “you’re getting jacked” 

Mentally – I have learned patience and how to pace myself – by doing this I have learned I accomplish more by moving just a little bit slower at a decent pace where before I was trying to kill it all at once and would have to take long breaks or I was completely redlined the rest of a WOD and that’s if I could even finish it.  In other words I have learned to work harder, smarter.

What is your favorite exercise?

Anything gymnastics related – love toes to bar and hand stand pushups!!!

Running???

What is your least favorite exercise?

Running – I actually f*&king hate running!!!!  But for me it’s a benchmark to see how well my lungs and strength have progressed.

Burpees – I am quite certain an asshole invented this exercise and I am also certain bigger assholes decided to add a box jump or a pullup;)

Wallballs

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

The Mary/Cindy 3/3,2/2,1/1 Complex –  It is all body weight movements and those are my favorite.

What has been your least favorite WOD?

The Mary/Cindy 3/3,2/2,1/1 Complex – I just made it out of the 3’s and this workout absolutely destroyed me!  I went in with high expectations thinking I’d be able to knock it out but quickly found out that it was going to knock me out.  My favorite and least favorite WODs will usually be the same though because I like working on my weaknesses.

f you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

“The Onion” – You will cry!!!

It will probably involve some chipper combination of rope climbs (and the obligatory rope burns), deadlifts, running and burpees…plus anything else I suck at.

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

want to accomplish a muscle up, butterfly kipping pull ups, double unders, and Olympic lifts with great form.

need to increase my core strength and legs overall – those are the weakest areas for me.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

Every day is varied; it is anti-routine and rigidly measured.  Besides weightlifting and cardio, there is also the gymnastics component to it which I have never seen with any other fitness program.  Lastly, CrossFit seems to evolve over time with different types of exercises added to it consistently.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Yes – the sport of fitness is fun…who doesn’t like having fun?!?!  I have found a new hobby where I can measure my improvements, set goals and then work my ass off to achieve them and see the results – and that is the most fun part of this for me, experiencing the results.  As Dhenmark likes to say – small victories!

How can other people relate to your story?

Everybody’s story is different so I am not sure anybody can relate to anybody else’s story.   But if there is something that I could tell people where they might relate it would be that, regarding CrossFit…you should want exercise with people who want you to do well (your friends), and in front of professionals who can coach you properly and scale it to your level in a fun environment.  I wish I would have given myself this advice years ago because this is way more fun than I thought it would be plus I have met some awesome humans in the process.

What is something that others may not know about you? 

I don’t actually live in the Dallas area…I go back home to Houston on most weekends where I really live with my wife.  I am a badass in the kitchen!

One thought on “Athlete Spotlight December 2015 – Chris Broadstone

Post Results Below:

