Athlete Spotlight November 2015 – Karen Padecio

IMG_1328

How long have you been CrossFitting?  I was a part of CrossFit long before it became a part of me which was about 4 years ago…I took about a year to come around to actually deciding I wanted to take elements – that was 3 years ago this month! Some of the best moments of my life have been because of CrossFit.  The friendships made here are priceless & I am truly grateful for them.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from? I am from Dallas originally, but have lived in: New York, Minnesota, Illinois & Washington State. I am the middle of 3 girls, and my sisters live in NY & LA, spanning all across the states. I attended college for interior design in Chicago, which is the best place to study architecture. I really, really love the NFL – the Dallas Cowboys are my #1. I love to talk all sports anytime & probably even know more than my husband (don’t tell him I said that) I have a love for food & nutrition, as well as architecture & design.

I am also married to my best friend (who also happens to be the super handsome head coach, Dhenmark) We are celebrating our 1 year anniversary this month!  For those of you who are already thinking it – no we did not meet at CrossFit 😉 He is my constant cheerleader & I am lucky to go through life with him. Yup, all the feelings.

What’s your occupation?  I am a Project Manager for a Hospitality Division of a Luxury Brand Lighting Manufacturer. I manage/design large custom projects for guestrooms in hotels around the globe!

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join? My journey started back at White Rock, when my then boyfriend asked me to do a free intro class with him. After that I said “no way – this is not for me!” I was happy with my yoga/barre routine. About a year later, I finally decided to give it a go & try something out of my comfort zone. Out of my comfort zone is where I remain 3 years later.

When Luna opened in July 2015, I remember it was me & 2 other people in the 5:30 class. It has been SO cool to see how much it has grown…almost 200 members later.

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna? So much of this is between the ears, and this has allowed me to push myself farther than I ever thought possible. One of the reasons I love this place is because of those that are there beside you every day. You look over & see someone doing that extra rep or an extra 10lbs just to get stronger. It is inspiring & makes me push myself hard every day.

My first workout coming out of Elements was Fran. (Yeah, I know – so bad) I used 3 bands and the bar. I think it also took me 12 minutes. Three years later, I can Rx that thing. The workout is still awful every time, but is the best reminder of how far I have come.

What is your favorite exercise? Handstand Pushups or pistols when it comes to gymnastics & cleans or deadlifts are my favorite barbell movements.

What is your least favorite exercise? Snatches & wall balls. Wall balls are not the friends of us vertically challenged.

What has been your favorite WOD so far? 12 Days of Christmas!! It’s so much fun & I love that everyone dresses up in Christmas colors!!

What has been your least favorite WOD? 2 mile sled pull & 14.5 – never ever again. Oh & anything with running…ew.

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it? Karen! Oh…wait – I think that’s taken 😉

But seriously, Fitness Dance Party. It would be an AMRAP of all the things I love & then at the top of every 2 minutes – you would have to dance it out for 30 seconds.

 What are some of your goals for the coming year? Deficit HSPU & also a bar muscle up. I’ll throw in a 185lb clean while I’m at it

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs? CrossFit is so great because it is never the same, and it makes you well rounded in all areas of fitness rather than focusing on just one thing. It is incredibly unique to see such the comradery aspect between both men & women – this sets us apart from all other sports.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you? Never – but I am SO happy it is now

How can other people relate to your story? I was once the girl who thought CrossFit was all scary from the outside, and when I got inside I realized that it is not the sport that keeps you coming – it is those around you. The community aspect of CrossFit is immeasurable & I am so honored to be a part of it here at Luna.

What is something that others may not know about you?  I have horrible stage fright & don’t like to be the center of attention. You would never know it since I am very outspoken & pretty loud, but I had a horrible breakdown before I had to go on stage before the talent show growing up. There also might have been an “oh shit” as I was walking down the aisle during my wedding because everyone was looking at me.

One thought on “Athlete Spotlight November 2015 – Karen Padecio

Post Results Below:

