Athlete Spotlight October 2015 – Candice Marks

How long have you been CrossFitting?

 I started the elements classes in January. I loved those classes and took them as long as I could… until Dhenmark told me I had to move on to the real classes.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

My name is Candice. I have 4 animals. I laugh at inappropriate times. Usually from something that happened yesterday. I am from here. I went to college at the university with the best football team and future 2016 College Football Champion, TCU. #gofrogs

What’s your occupation?

Wedding and events planner

 How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I think I just woke up one day and said, “I want to try CrossFit.” I did Stott Pilates for years which is very form focused.  I took the instructor certification courses and it scared me from weightlifting because you would see so many people come in with injuries and muscle imbalances from lifting heavy weights with improper form.  I still wanted to challenge myself and try something new and my friend got this amazing body from CrossFit so I wanted to do what she was doing! I googled CrossFit gyms near me and saw on CrossFit Luna’s website how form is heavily emphasized and elements classes are required before you take the regular classes so the coaches can make sure you are lifting in correct form.   Plus the gym looked big, nice, clean, air conditioned, new and not smelly!

 How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

Mentally I have learned I can get unexplained bruises, cuts, calluses, sweat, and feel like I’m dying… and still not actually die! That’s just what I learned from the elements classes! 🙂

I wake up every morning and see these workouts that seem entirely impossible for me to do. I walk into CrossFit scared that I will not be able to do it, but I put all my trust in the amazing coaches who know exactly what I am capable of doing (better than I do) and I am always somehow able to finish every workout. I am stronger than I have ever been in my life- mentally and physically.

 What is your favorite exercise?

I like sit-ups, back handsprings, pizza tag, and rest.

 What is your least favorite exercise?

Running, rowing or anything that makes me sweat.

 What has been your favorite WOD so far?

I like the Saturday workouts where you have a partner and together you have to do a certain number of something.  I like to partner with Gosia and make her do most of the work. 🙂

 What has been your least favorite WOD? 

Death by workouts… I don’t like to die.

 If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

Candice Workout Get Any Harder?!

 What are some of your goals for the coming year?

First place in CrossFit Games!

 How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

CrossFit is completely different from any other kind of workout because I am actually having fun the entire time and forget that I am working out. It is the first workout I have done where I am not watching the clock the whole time waiting for it to be over. One, because I am never sure if the clocks are actually showing the time- and two, because it’s fun and I don’t want it to end. You show up, the coach tells you this impossible workout, and then everyone starts setting up before you can think twice and back out of it!

 Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

No.  I’ve always been active and liked being fit.  I just never liked the actual process of getting there.

 How can other people relate to your story?

Even if you are girly, have no muscle, and don’t like to sweat, you can still survive, have fun and be in the best shape of your life with CrossFit! You can work out at your own pace and with your own style.  And you might even be almost good at some things.

 What is something that others may not know about you? 

I like the fan.

Post Results Below:

