September Athlete Spotlight – Ben Habern

IMG_0520

How long have you been CrossFitting? 

I have been CrossFitting for about 6 months.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I am from Argyle, TX, about 35 minutes Northwest of Irving.  I attended college at the University of Oklahoma where I was a student-athlete on the football team for 4 years.  My undergraduate degree is in Human Relations and I recently got my Masters from OU in Adult and Higher Education with an emphasis in Intercollegiate Athletics Administration.  My football career was cut short due to an injury I suffered my junior year.  Because of this, I decided to continue my education and gain a better understanding of the business side of intercollegiate athletics.  I was a graduate assistant at Oklahoma in the academics department, as well as the licensing department.  After graduation, I received an internship opportunity with the College Football Playoff in Irving, TX.  I served as the intern for Community Relations and Strategic Partnerships where I assisted various capacities.

What’s your occupation?

After my internship, I had an opportunity to stay on full-time with the College Football Playoff.  I currently serve as the Marketing and Strategic Partnerships Coordinator with the College Football Playoff where I mainly assist in revenue generation and event marketing.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

When my wife and I moved down here from Norman, we wanted to continue exercising and living a healthy lifestyle.  She was a student-athlete on the rowing team at Oklahoma and we have always enjoyed working out and exercising.  Once we settled in, we noticed Crossfit Luna was not too far from where we lived, so we thought we would give it a shot and it has been well worth it!

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

To be honest, I have seen myself change dramatically.  After my days of playing football at Oklahoma, I was completely burnt out on working out and exercising.  I had various injuries that I was dealing with and did not have the motivation to consistently go to the gym when I didn’t have to.  Once I started at Crossfit Luna, I have really enjoyed the programming and different exercises that we do regularly.  Dhenmark has been fantastic to work with in that he has modified many different movements for me because of my injuries.  I am now to the point where I am enjoying working out again. Because of this, I am very grateful to the coaching staff and community at Crossfit Luna.

What is your favorite exercise?

I would have to say squat or cleans.  In my opinion, there’s nothing like getting under the bar and pushing up some weight.

What is your least favorite exercise?

I would say Double Unders.  I have just not been able to figure them out.  It might be the death of me! 🙂

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

All of them!  I think my favorite WOD’s are one’s that include handstand pushups.  I have never been able to do those, but with some practice at Crossfit Luna it has been alot of fun learning that movement!

What has been your least favorite WOD? 

Anything with Dubz… As I stated above, I do not like them!

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

“Fancy Pants”

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

My main goal is to lean up.  I would like to lose around 50 pounds and get in better overall shape.  I know working out is key to this as well as eating healthy and often!  I am excited to continue this journey with the Crossfit Luna team!

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

What I love about CrossFit is the high intensity of the workouts.  You can get a great workout in and burn a lot of calories just with a 10-20 minute WOD.  Another great thing about CrossFit is all the variations and movements that are included in the programming.  You are guaranteed to do a different type of exercise everyday with CrossFit, and I think that is why people are so successful with it.  You continue to keep the body guessing and adapting, which is a good thing!

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Health and fitness have always been important to me, so I knew that exercising and working would be a regular hobby of mine.  However, fitness as a sport I never thought would be of interest to me.  Now, I am excited to get in the gym and look forward to trying to break any PR I might have.

How can other people relate to your story?

During my football days, I went through a lot of adversity with my injuries.  I had a total of 8 injuries and 5 surgeries throughout my 4 years at Oklahoma, but it was important to me to battle and fight through all of the adversity because I knew it would end up helping me in the long run.  I would encourage anyone that is struggling with some kind of adversity, whether it be an injury or something personal, to continue to take it a day at a time and never get down on yourself.  We will all go through difficult times, or have frustrating injuries during our lives, but it’s the way that we battle back from those that build our character and ultimately help create better versions of ourselves.

What is something that others may not know about you? 

I am an extremely laid back person that enjoys hanging out with my beautiful wife, Morgan.  I think we consider ourselves foodies, in that we love trying new restaurants and different things on menus.  I play the guitar in my spare time and enjoy hanging out with my two furry friends, Blaze and Rooney.  Blaze is a bengal cat with a ton of energy, and Rooney is a dalmation with even more energy!  They are a lot of fun but keep us extra busy!

One thought on “September Athlete Spotlight – Ben Habern

Post Results Below:

