Athlete Spotlight July 2015 – Jason Bolden

jason barbell

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I’ve been doing crossfit for about 4 and a half months now.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I like long walks on the beach and dramatic sunsets… I grew up in DFW. Half my life in Southeast Dallas, the rest in North Fort Worth. I never really played sports growing up. I ran track in the 7th grade, but past that I was a band nerd in high school then a computer nerd in college (Gig’em Aggies!!!).  My favorite team sport has to be ultimate frisbee (we’ve got to make this a thing at some point). Did I mention that I’m competitive.

What’s your occupation?

I’m a software developer for American Airlines. Dhenmark constantly preaches about how my typical work day is slowly killing me…

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I’m sure this is a common answer, but I drove by the gym on my way to 635. What made me decide to join was the day I went to a competition that a childhood friend of mine was a part of. The whole time I was thinking, “I’m capable of doing all of these workouts, so why am I not?” Soon after I signed up.

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

Thanks to the the awesome programming I now have to buy new shirts since I no longer fit into medium shirts. I’ve also discovered that I’m capable of exercising at a capacity I never once imagined. The idea of using more than 50lbs in a workout was unheard of in the programs I did prior to CrossFit. This is also the longest period of continuous exercise I’ve had in my life. My goal is to make it an entire year without missing more than a week of working out.

What is your favorite exercise?

Sprints

What is your least favorite exercise?

thrusters

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

Fight Gone Bad

What has been your least favorite WOD?

Kelly

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

“You mad bro?”

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

Win first in an RX competition, and never become a negative example to others in the gym.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

For one, everyone knows about it because we never shut up about it. But most importantly it pushes your limits like nothing else I’ve experienced. It also attracts all of the competitive peoples, and the variety of WOD programming ensures you can’t be the best at everything.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Yes, but for whatever reason I waited until I was 23 to explore it.

How can other people relate to your story?

I’m relatively normal/boring. I wake up, have breakfast occasionally, go to work, do CrossFit in the evenings, and sometimes party on the weekends. I’m just a young guy making a living and staying in shape. I would dare to say that no one can relate to my story because I do too little.

What is something that others may not know about you? 

I’m a pretty decent baker, and I know how to knit and crochet.

4 thoughts on “Athlete Spotlight July 2015 – Jason Bolden

Post Results Below:

