Athlete Spotlight June 2015 – Amber Cedillos

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I have accumulated a little over a year’s worth of CrossFit, I started back in 2013 for several months, then took a break and picked it back up at the end of 2014.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

Any way you slice it, I’m from Texas. I was born in El Paso, raised in South East Texas, and now here I am in Dallas.

What’s your occupation?

I am a recruiter for a medical staffing agency.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I heard about Luna when my office moved into a building about a mile north on Luna. I was actually a member of a different box, but made the switch in February so that i could actually spend more time both at the office and at Luna.

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna? 

Since I have been able to spend more time doing CrossFit, there have been several aspects about myself that have improved. Physically I have gotten stronger. And the community at Luna has pushed me to works towards my goals inside the gym which translates into pushing myself in goals personally and professionally. Also, people seem to think I smile a lot more lately—I will give Luna credit for that.

What is your favorite exercise?

When in doubt—SQUAT. or deadlift.

What is your least favorite exercise?

Running.

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

I can’t name one single WOD that stands out as my favorite. But I will say that I really enjoyed participating in the Open because I felt like that was a great indicator for identifying new goals for 2015.

What has been your least favorite WOD?

Anything with running in it….although Murph didn’t suck as much as I thought it was going to.

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

Funky Cole Amber-dina (ok that is a joke that probably only my siblings will get)

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

I actually made a list at the beginning of the year and have hit some. Like double unders, or rowing a 500m in under 2 mins. I hope to do my first ring muscle up and get better at butterfly pull ups. One of the great things about CrossFit is the list is always changing. Also, I promised myself I would at least try one competition and as of this weekend that will be something I accomplished.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

Even when I was a personal trainer, I HATED following some sort of strict program. CrossFit was perfect for me because of how varied the workouts are from day to day. This keeps me entertained for sure, but even though it seems random, there is a method to the madness. But aside from the fact that CF is just plain FUN, there is a sense of community that I have not encountered anywhere else. You want to improve not only yourself…but the people who are going through the same workouts as you, facing the same challenges.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

When I first read about CF in a magazine about 6 or 7 years ago I thought it was completely insane and probably dangerous. But then I saw the athletes of CF doing things that I wanted to do and eventually I ran out of excuses and just tried it. I have never regretted giving it a try.

How can other people relate to your story?

I think everyone goes through something similar before they decide to try CF. They think CF is too dangerous or too hard. Neither is the case and the only way to prove that to yourself is to show up and just try it. Which can be said for almost anything in life, if you want it just try it. Except for drugs, mmkay.

What is something that others may not know about you?

I am a big sci-fi fan, I love Doctor Who and the X-Files.

2 thoughts on “Athlete Spotlight June 2015 – Amber Cedillos

Post Results Below:

