Athlete Spotlight May 2015- Roy Machado

How long have you been CrossFitting?

I’ve been cross fitting since December 2013.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I grew up in Puerto Rico and I’ve moved to the states when I was eight years old. I spent my early years living in Atlanta, Georgia and I moved to the Dallas area in my senior year of high school.

What’s your occupation?

Audio post-production engineer. I have worked at Dallas Audio Post for the past 21 years.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I found out about CrossFit Luna by driving by. I was very excited to see a new CrossFit gym open close to my work which is only about a mile from the gym. When I saw on the website that Crossfit Luna had great showers, i was sold because that meant that I could work out, shower and make it to work on time. After I got to workout with Coach Dhenmark for the first time, I was REALLY sold!
How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?
Physically I have seen huge changes. I have lost 25 pounds and gained muscle mass. I an much stronger than when I started at Cfit Luna.
I go to the 6:30 AM class and I feel that mentally, CFit Luna really helps to keep my stress level down and gives me energy for my day at work. I look forward to coming to Cfit Luna in the mornings; I enjoy being part of a great team of athletes; always have a lot of fun and always leave in a better mood than when I arrived!
What is your favorite exercise?

Call me crazy, but it’s THRUSTERS!

What is your least favorite exercise?

Probably overhead squats because I have poor shoulder mobility. Coach Dhenmark has encouraged me to work on my shoulder mobility at home and it is really starting to payoff!

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

Jackie or Fran.

What has been your least favorite WOD?

No doubt about it….Open 15.5, it completely decimated my legs. I could barely walk for two days!

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

I would rename Open 15.5 to “I know you are trying to kill me”.

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

To improve my shoulder mobility and strength so I can improve my overhead squats and handstand push-ups.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

Crossfit takes a holistic and measured approach to fitness under the supervision of a coach. Crossfit is programmed to work all of your muscle groups and increase endurance and strength. You can track your progress and be inspired and motivated by all of the great athletes around you.

Other fitness programs are too repetitive, do not offer the programming necessary to improve your overall fitness and also lack the community component that makes Crossfit so special.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Yes, because I have always loved to exercise.

How can other people relate to your story?

I don’t know, but I think I’m a fairly typical Crossfit Luna Lunatic. I work hard at the gym and have fun doing it.

What is something that others may not know about you?

I have been married for 14 years to my beautiful wife Shanda and have two girls ages 8 and 12.
All three of them make fun of me because I love Crossfit so much.

One thought on “Athlete Spotlight May 2015- Roy Machado

Post Results Below:

