Athlete Spotlight April 2015- Liz Buske

How long have you been CrossFitting? 

 I’ve been in love with CrossFit for about 4 years, when I started in Miami, but grad school got in the way from 2011-2014 so I’ve just really able to put my all into it for the past 4 months.

 Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

 I’m originally from sunny Miami, Florida and have been in the DFW area since last August.

 What’s your occupation?

 I’m an Assistant Project Manager for a construction company. I love it.

 How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

 As soon as I got my job here in Dallas, I started looking for a CrossFit gym – Luna is actually only about a mile and a half from my office, so convenience was definitely a motivator. I think I officially decided to join after one class, the atmosphere and coach Dhenmark were just awesome, and I immediately felt comfortable. Well, as comfortable as you can feel when everything hurts.

 How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

Doing the Whole30 challenge in January, I saw all of my workout clothes go from a little too tight to falling off doing box jumps, so of course, that is a plus for me. Maybe the best part of that is the fact that the scale didn’t move that much – I’m learning to measure my fitness in other ways and test my limits in ways that I might have been afraid to before.

What is your favorite exercise?

 Gotta go with squats here.

What is your least favorite exercise?

 Probably thrusters. No, running. Definitely running.

 What has been your favorite WOD so far?

 We did this one that was 10 down to 1 deadlifts and then 1 up to 10 wall balls. Sometimes things just line up for you. My first Thursday was really awesome too, we did a 200m run, 3 deadlifts and 10x burpee box jumps, every 4 minutes, 7 times. I would say that was the most satisfying workout, cause I definitely didn’t think I would get through that until about round 6.

 What has been your least favorite WOD?

 That’s a harder question, tend to block those out! We did a nasty little bar-over-burpee/thruster combo a couple weeks ago that did not. feel. good.

 If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

 Everything hurts…and I’m dying.

 What are some of your goals for the coming year?

 I’m so glad you asked!

Pull-ups!

Strict handstand push-ups, from the floor

Handstand hold and walk

Total over 450

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

 At its most basic, I often think that when I did the more traditional gym cardio/weight routine, it’s often that the playlist, or your attitude, can affect the whole workout. With CrossFit, once the workout starts, I don’t even HEAR the music, and (especially at our gym!) the attitude is always positive, whether you like it or not!

 Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

 Pretty much as soon as I figured out what it was, yes. Oh, and my husband says I’m farm-strong…so I guess functional fitness is for me?

 How can other people relate to your story?

 I’ve been to the gym, I’ve done the workouts and the treadmill, and the elliptical like I was supposed to, but there really is nothing that compares to the environment, and the satisfaction you get from pushing yourself the way we do in CrossFit. I hope that especially the ladies coming in, can see me try things that push my comfort zone and know that if I can try it – you can try it. I’ll be the first one to trip and fall make a fool of myself any day, but you never know what you can do if you think you can’t!

 What is something that others may not know about you? 

I’m a pretty big nerd, and I’m ok with that. If you ever want to talk Art/Architecture, Game of Thrones fan theories, cooking/baking, Disney World or competitive CrossFit, I’m your girl.

One thought on “Athlete Spotlight April 2015- Liz Buske

Post Results Below:

