Athlete Spotligt March 2015- Andrew Moultrie

How long have you been CrossFitting?

About 3.5 years.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?

I was born in Tennessee, but raised in the Dallas area. I was an Austinite in college, and after a brief stint in Florida,I’ve been back in Dallas ever since.

What’s your occupation?

I am on the Product Development team at TXU Energy. In short, I come up with new electricity plans like “Free Nights”. It’s a great place to work – I love my job!

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join.

My wife (Sara) and I got married last September and we wanted to be a part of the same box. She was a member at CrossFit White Rock, Luna’s sister box, and since we lived in Las Colinas, CrossFit Luna was a great fit! Dhenmark has been an awesome coach, and it’s a really cool facility, so I’m glad we made the move!

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

My biggest change has been a mental change. I joined Luna about the time I got married, and as a single person before I came to Luna (I realize now) my life was basically prioritized around myself all the time. I worked out a LOT and was pretty absorbed in my performance and always feeling like I needed to improve to feel good about where I was at or what I looked like. Since marriage, my attendance has been less consistent and I’m starting to feel the effects of that during workouts, but (here’s the good news) I’ve been able to (and continue to) let go of some of those image/performance issues and be satisfied with giving my best whenever I can – all while getting to know some of the Luna Wolfpack while I’m at it! It’s been really good.

What is your favorite exercise?

Squat Clean

What is your least favorite exercise?

Push ups

What has been your favorite WOD so far?

I did DT on a Saturday one time, and while I thought I was going to die and really contemplated giving up multiple times, Dhenmark kept shouting, “This is where you get stronger!”, so I continued on. I finished the workout, and was really happy that I did!

What has been your least favorite WOD?

I tend not to like the longer WODs (1k row, 100 burpee box jumps, 1k row, anyone??), but I know they’re good for me.

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?

“Naptime” – It would be at 2pm everyday, and it would be a 45 minute AMRAP of sleep.

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

I’d like to do 10 unbroken muscle-ups. It would also be pretty cool to handstand walk the length of the box.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?

I can only speak from my experience, and I’ve been a part of cross country and swim teams back in the day, as well as held my own at a regular ol’ gym throughout college. CrossFit takes everything I love about being on a team (great coaching, camaraderie, and a competitive spirit), and mixes it with functional movements that always change and are consistently challenging. With CrossFit you won’t get bored and you always have room for improvement.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?

Nope. I never felt like I was a “strong” person, and figured I needed to stick to more endurance-based sports like running or swimming. It wasn’t until CrossFit that I ever felt strong. That being said, it also helped me realize I was strong all along.

How can other people relate to your story?

I’m never going to be a competitor at the CrossFit Games. And let’s face it, like 99.9% of all CrossFitters aren’t. For the rest of us, we are here for the long run – to build strength that will improve our present day life and sustain us so we can help lift a couch when our friends move or play with our grandkids one day. We all come through the Luna doors with different levels of skill or strength or health, but in the end, we’re equals – each being the very best we can be and pushing each other on when our minds trick us into thinking that giving up is an option.

What is something that others may not know about you?

I (along with Sara) like to try new places/foods to eat around Dallas (there are so many options!). Chinese, Indian, African, French, American… we’ll try it at least once! We also like making new friends, so let us know if you want to grab some food and we’ll make it happen! Especially if ice cream is involved!

Post Results Below:

