Athlete Spotlight For Feb 2015 – Jessica Chance

How long have you been CrossFitting?
Since July 2014, so about eight months.

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from?
I was born in Dallas, and a few months later moved to Alaska, My family lived there for eight years before moving back to Burleson, Texas (yes, home of Kelly Clarkson). I then attended college in College Station, and moved to downtown Dallas following graduation. This past year I moved to Las Colinas to test out living in the burbs’.

What’s your occupation?
HR Supervisor at an oil and gas company.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?
Through googling! My Husband and I moved to Las Colinas and needed to find a local workout program. We saw the success a few people around us had with Crossfit, so we thought we would check it out. We enjoyed that we could workout together while still being challenged individually, and loved the passion our coaches had for Crossfit and growing Crossfit Luna. It really made us excited to be a part of something new. Oh, and the amazing facilities of course!

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?
Mentally, I have learned how to leave stress behind me when I walk in the doors, which has really helped me learn to manage it in other parts of my life. I quickly realized I couldn’t perform my best if I came in with a negative mindset, and that I felt a million times better after a great workout.

Physically, I have never had the upper body strength that I now have. I love being able to carry all of my groceries to my apartment in one trip!

What is your favorite exercise?
Deadlifts. They were the first movement that came naturally to me during elements and to this day they are still my favorite!

What is your least favorite exercise?
Running. I know it is great for building endurance but it gets old quickly to me.

What has been your favorite WOD so far?
I love any with weightlifting, I feel so strong after completing them.

What has been your least favorite WOD?
I don’t think I can name any that stick out as my least favorite, being newer to Crossfit I find all of them challenging (but in a good way)!

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it?
One more glass, please!

What are some of your goals for the coming year?

To attend more times during the week, and gain more mobility.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs?
The sense of community, everyone is so friendly and supportive of one another. Also, the workouts are a varied and you receive great guidance on all of the movements. Safety is a priority, which is always important. I appreciate that the coaches give me feedback and corrections.

Did you think the sport of fitness would ever be for you?
No, I always thought I had exercised induced asthma and avoided high intensity sports growing up. Instead I did dance (ballet, tap jazz, and clogging).

How can other people relate to your story?
You don’t have to have a fitness background to start Crossfit, anyone can do it with persistence and dedication. I think a lot of us walk around feeling connected 24-7 to work, and this is one hour of the day you can disconnect and just focus on your well-being.

What is something that others may not know about you?
I am Aleut (Native Alaskan) and affiliated with the Agdaadux Tribe of King Cove, Alaska.

Post Results Below:

