Athlete Spotlight For Oct 2014 – Julie Dreadin

How long have you been CrossFitting?   

I joined Crossfit in April of 2012, after talking to sweet Kyle on the phone I gathered the courage to come in for the free class and then Elements.

ResizedImage252189-Julie

Tell us about yourself… Where are you from? 

I’m from a small town in East Texas, Kilgore. I grew up there and then moved to Dallas in 1993 to go to college (no, I wasn’t a Kilgore College Rangerette :). I graduated from UTA with my Nursing degree and then got a Masters and Doctorate from TWU.

What’s your occupation? 

I’m a nurse practitioner. I work with women who have breast cancer at Parkland Hospital full time. I also teach in the graduate nursing school at TWU part time.

How did you hear about CrossFit Luna and why did you decide to join?

I was originally a member at Crossfit White Rock. Ben told me a while back that he was planning to open a gym in a new location (Crossfit Luna). I love both locations (because of the coaches and friends I’ve made). I usually attend the Luna location now because it’s so close to my house-and Dhenmark of course. 😉

How have you seen yourself change – mentally or physically – since being a part of CrossFit Luna?

WOW! I’m so much stronger physically and mentally. I have a long way to go, but I’ve come such a long way from where I was when I started. I do exercises now that I could never imagine myself doing before (nor could I do them when I initially started Crossfitting). Pull – ups, any weight movement that involved lifting the bar above my head, and hand stand push ups were extremely painful to watch me do (they didn’t feel too good either). Now, I’m actually able to complete the movement (always still working on improving my technique which is a daily work in progress) – AND – when I perform these exercises (and many others), I do them with more confidence than I used to have.

What is your favorite exercise? 

My favorite exercise is the handstand push up. I completely hated them when I first started. I’m embarrassed to that sometimes I would even skip work outs when I saw them as part of the WOD. I had never even done a handstand in my life before starting Crossfit, but with lots of coaching (and coaxing) and great patience from everyone involved (coaches, other members – it took a village), I DID IT!! There are definitely improvements to be made, but I really enjoy the challenge and I don’t skip workouts anymore because of them either : )

What is your least favorite exercise? 

I hate to say that any exercise is my least favorite because each one, I have found, has some greater purpose (mobility, strength, endurance, etc.) which in turn helps you with other exercises; however, snatches and cleans are most frustrating for me. I’m constantly learning things I should do differently, certain parts of the actual movement (which in my mind, there are a million – it definitely looks easier than it is) as a whole are still difficult for me. I’ve tried to form a different outlook on these movements lately. Instead of my internal grumbling that occurs (sometimes external grumbling does slip out, and I apologize for that) when I see them as part of strength training or a WOD, I try to use the time improve on at least one part of the lift and eventually I’m hoping it will all come together. When my technique improves, I’m thinking my strength will eventually increase as well.

What has been your favorite WOD so far? 

Any WOD that I finish without great incident makes me ecstatic : )

What has been your least favorite WOD?

 I’m not a fan of running in the heat, so any WOD with lots of running doesn’t excite me…BUT…I know it’s important, and it’s not hot 365 days of the year…so, I shall suck it up!

If you had to name a WOD, what would you name it? 

This Will Hurt YOU More Than It Hurts Me : )

What are some of your goals for the coming year? 

I want to continue to be able to Crossfit throughout my pregnancy (Dhenmark has been so wonderful in helping me to continue working out safely and in teaching me necessary modifications to certain exercises) and get back to Crossfitting ASAP after the babies are born.

How do you see CrossFit being different than other fitness programs? 

It’s so diverse. I found myself getting bored with my previous exercise regimen (step/toning classes, cycling). I’m never bored with CrossFit WODs/training. I feel like each workout benefits me in a different way, and I learn so many different skills that seem to build on one another that make me a better athlete.

How can other people relate to your story? 

If I can do it, ANYONE can! You just have to get over the initial “pee in your pants” fear of walking in the gym for the first time and doing a WOD (at least in my case), trust in and listen to the wonderful coaches that we have (they are the best ever!!!!!), and keep laughing (once you can breathe again ;- even if it’s at yourself ) and having fun. Ben once told me when I first started Crossfitting, and I was super frustrated with myself that, “Crossfitting is a marathon not a sprint.” He was absolutely right! It requires practice and perseverance. Sometime you may not get it on the first, second, or tenth try…but…you will get it eventually. Once you get it, you just keep practicing to perform the lift better, make the time faster, complete the WOD prescribed, the list goes on. That’s what makes Crossfit so fun!!!

AND – the friends you make at crossfit are the greatest. They cheer you on through WODs and sometimes they cheer you along in life. What more could you ask for?!?

What is something that others may not know about you? 

I wish I could say I was the first 5 ft 3 in supermodel or my initial profession was a brain surgeon but no such luck. The greatest thing I have is that I’m really shy when I meet someone for the first time (this may continue through several additional meetings), and I tend to turn red and sweat profusely! That’s why I like introducing myself AFTER a workout, then no one notices. My husband is the talker in our relationship, so when he’s around, I usually have nothing to worry about…sweat free! Still trying to get him to join Crossfit.

One thought on “Athlete Spotlight For Oct 2014 – Julie Dreadin

Post Results Below:

